Susto

Susto

Sat Feb 12 2022 At 8:30 PM

The Southern Cafe & Music Hall

103 S 1st St
Charlottesville, Virginia 22902

The Southern Cafe & Music Hall
Charlottesville, VA, 22902

When you purchase, we donate 50% of our earnings to our Featured Cause above.

Want to benefit a different cause?

Create an account or log in to benefit a cause of your choice.

Ticket Information

  • 100% Worry-Free Guarantee
  • We are a resale marketplace, not the ticket seller.
  • Your seats are together unless otherwise noted.
  • Prices are set by third-party sellers and may be above or below face value.
  • All prices are in USD.
  • Questions on your order? Call Customer Service at 866.459.9233

BREAK A LEG

wishing a person "good luck" would be considered bad luck, therefore an alternative way of wishing luck was developed. The expression is sometimes used outside"Break a leg" is a typical English idiom used in the context of theatre or other performing arts to wish a performer "good luck". An ironic or non-literal saying of uncertain origin (a dead metaphor), "break a leg" is commonly said to actors and musicians before they go on stage to perform, likely first used in this context in the United States in the 1930s or possibly 1920s, originally documented without specifically theatrical associations. When said at the onset of an audition, "break a leg" is used to wish success to the person being auditioned. The expression probably reflects a superstition (perhaps a theatrical superstition) in which directly wishing a person "good luck" would be considered bad luck, therefore an alternative way of wishing luck was developed. The expression is sometimes used outside the theatre. Among professional dancers, the traditional saying is not "break a leg", but the French word "merde".

You may also like

Fri Apr 29
2022
7:00 PM, SaskTel Centre, Saskatoon, SK,
Sun May 01
2022
7:00 PM, Brandt Centre - Evraz Place, Regina, SK,
Fri Feb 25
2022
8:00 PM, The Show - Agua Caliente Casino, Rancho Mirage, CA,
Sat Dec 27
2070
9:55 PM, Madlife Stage & Studios, Woodstock, GA,
Wed Apr 27
2022
7:00 PM, Enmax Centre, Lethbridge, AB,
Sun May 08
2022
7:00 PM, Place Bell, Laval, QC,
Sun Apr 24
2022
7:00 PM, South Okanagan Events Centre, Penticton, BC,
Sat May 07
2022
7:00 PM, Budweiser Gardens, London, ON,
Tue May 03
2022
7:30 PM, Keystone Centre, Brandon, MB,
Sat Feb 12
2022
7:00 PM, Venice Performing Arts Center, Venice, FL,
Sat Jun 04
2022
7:30 PM, Thunder Valley Casino - Amphitheatre, Lincoln, CA,
Fri May 13
2022
7:00 PM, Mile One Centre, St. John's, NL,
Sat May 14
2022
7:00 PM, Mile One Centre, St. John's, NL,
Fri May 06
2022
7:30 PM, Fallsview Casino's Entertainment Centre, Niagara Falls, ON,
Sat Apr 30
2022
9:00 PM, River Cree Casino, Enoch, AB,
Sat Apr 23
2022
7:00 PM, Abbotsford Centre, Abbotsford, BC,
Tue May 10
2022
7:00 PM, Scotiabank Centre, Halifax, NS,
Fri Apr 22
2022
7:00 PM, Save On Foods Memorial Centre, Victoria, BC,
Tue Apr 26
2022
7:00 PM, Sandman Centre, Kamloops, BC,
Wed May 04
2022
7:30 PM, Thunder Bay Community Auditorium, Thunder Bay, ON,

Email Address

Please provide an email address that you'd like associated with your account

Secure Checkout

1Delivery

2Payment

3Order Review