Ladies of Laughter

Ladies of Laughter

Thu Dec 02 2021 At 7:30 PM

Academy Center of the Arts

600 Main Street
Lynchburg, Virginia 24504

Academy Center of the Arts
Lynchburg, VA, 24504

When you purchase, we donate 50% of our earnings to our Featured Cause above.

Want to benefit a different cause?

Create an account or log in to benefit a cause of your choice.

Ticket Information

  • 100% Worry-Free Guarantee
  • We are a resale marketplace, not the ticket seller.
  • Your seats are together unless otherwise noted.
  • Prices are set by third-party sellers and may be above or below face value.
  • All prices are in USD.
  • Questions on your order? Call Customer Service at 866.459.9233

SENTIMENTAL COMEDY

as the name sentimental comedy might suggest. They believed that noisy laughter inhibited the silent sympathy and thought of the audience. PlaywrightsSentimental comedy is an 18th-century dramatic genre which sprang up as a reaction to the immoral tone of English Restoration plays. In sentimental comedies, middle-class protagonists triumphantly overcome a series of moral trials. These plays aimed to produce tears rather than laughter and reflected contemporary philosophical conceptions of humans as inherently good but capable of being led astray by bad example. By appealing to his noble sentiments, a man could be reformed and set back on the path of virtue. While the plays contained characters whose natures seemed overly virtuous and whose problems were too easily resolved, they were accepted by audiences as truthful representations of the human predicament.

You may also like

Fri Apr 22
2022
7:00 PM, Save On Foods Memorial Centre, Victoria, BC,
Sun Nov 28
2021
7:00 PM, Helen DeVitt Jones Theater At The Buddy Holly Hall, Lubbock, TX,
Fri Feb 25
2022
8:00 PM, The Show - Agua Caliente Casino, Rancho Mirage, CA,
Sat Dec 27
2070
9:55 PM, Madlife Stage & Studios, Woodstock, GA,
Sat Feb 12
2022
7:00 PM, Venice Performing Arts Center, Venice, FL,
Sat Apr 23
2022
7:00 PM, Abbotsford Centre, Abbotsford, BC,
Wed Apr 27
2022
7:00 PM, Enmax Centre, Lethbridge, AB,
Wed Dec 01
2021
7:30 PM, UT Tyler Cowan Center, Tyler, TX,
Sun Dec 05
2021
8:00 PM, Paradise Cove At River Spirit, Tulsa, OK,
Sat May 07
2022
7:00 PM, Budweiser Gardens, London, ON,
Sun Dec 12
2021
8:00 PM, Wagner Noel Performing Arts Center, Midland, TX,
Wed Dec 08
2021
8:00 PM, Selena Auditorium, Corpus Christi, TX,
Sun May 01
2022
7:00 PM, Brandt Centre - Evraz Place, Regina, SK,
Tue Dec 07
2021
8:00 PM, Taylor County Expo Center, Abilene, TX,
Sat Nov 27
2021
8:00 PM, Helen DeVitt Jones Theater At The Buddy Holly Hall, Lubbock, TX,
Sun Apr 24
2022
7:00 PM, South Okanagan Events Centre, Penticton, BC,
Sat Dec 04
2021
8:00 PM, Shreveport Municipal Memorial Auditorium, Shreveport, LA,
Sat May 14
2022
7:00 PM, Mile One Centre, St. John's, NL,
Sat Dec 11
2021
8:00 PM, Abraham Chavez Theatre, El Paso, TX,
Tue Apr 26
2022
7:00 PM, Sandman Centre, Kamloops, BC,

Email Address

Please provide an email address that you'd like associated with your account

Secure Checkout

1Delivery

2Payment

3Order Review